Who governs our business?

Board members

Dr Thomas G Parry AM (Chairman) –
BEc (Hons), MEc, PhD

Term of appointment: 1 June 2010 to 30 September 2013.

Chair of the Corporate Governance, People and Remuneration, Regulatory and Reform committees. Member of the Finance and Asset Management and Public Health and Research committees.

Tom was a consultant to Macquarie Capital Funds Group until August 2009. He was Foundation Executive Chairman of the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal of NSW (IPART) and its predecessor, the Government Pricing Tribunal of NSW from 1992 to 2004. He was an ex officio Commissioner of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, a member of the NSW Council on the Cost and Quality of Government, and the Foundation NSW Natural Resources Commissioner. He was also a member of the Board of NSW Health’s Clinical Excellence Commission and South East Area Health.

Tom is currently Chairman of Australian Energy Market Operator, Chairman of First State Super, a director of the Sydney Opera House Trust, a director of the Australian Securities Exchange’s Compliance Company, a director of Powerco NZ, and a member of the Advisory Council of the SMART Infrastructure Facility at the University of Wollongong.

Kevin Young (Managing Director) –
BEng (Hons), MBA, FIE Aust, CPENG, FAICD

Term of appointment: 1 August 2011 – for a term equivalent to his appointment as CEO/Managing Director.

Ex officio member of all committees.

Kevin is the Managing Director of Sydney Water. Kevin was previously the Managing Director of Hunter Water.

Kevin has a Civil Engineering degree with honours from the University of Newcastle and a Masters of Business Administration. Kevin is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Kevin has over 30 years experience working for the private sector and government authorities within Australia and overseas.

Kevin was previously Chairman of the Water Services Association of Australia (WSAA) whose members serve over 17 million Australians every day with water and wastewater services. Kevin is currently Chairman of WSAA’s National Safety and Wellbeing Network.

John Brown (Non-executive Director) –

Term of appointment: 7 September 2010 to 30 September 2013.

Chair of the Board’s Audit and Risk Committee. Member of the Corporate Governance, People and Remuneration and Regulatory and Reform committees.

John was previously a partner with KPMG for over 26 years and since then has been appointed to be the chair or member of the audit committee of a number of NSW and Federal public sector entities. John is also a director and Chair of the Audit Committee of Integrated Research Ltd, a director of The Gift of Life Foundation Ltd and a member of the National Health and Research Medical Council.